STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

FILE NO. 49543

FILED

OCT 29 1979

JOHN McCARTHY

In re Hearing on the Redistricting of the Eighth Judicial District

AMENDED ORDER

WHEREAS, the judges of the Eighth Judicial District have submitted to the Supreme Court a plan to redistrict the county courts of the Eighth Judicial District;

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that a hearing on said plan be held in the Supreme Court chambers in the State Capitol in Saint Paul, Minnesota at 10 o'clock a.m. on December 19, 1978, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that advance notice of the hearing be given by the publication of its Order of November 20, 1978 in the Supreme Court edition of Finance & Commerce, the Saint Paul Legal Ledger and the legal newspapers in each county in the Eighth Judicial District, and

WHEREAS, the above orders have been complied with, and a hearing on the redistricting plan of the Eighth Judicial District has been held on December 19, 1978, Mr. George E. Hulstrand, State Senator Wayne Olhoft and Judges John J. Weyrens, John C. Lindstrom and DePaul D. Willette making presentations regarding the redistricting plan, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that a second hearing on this matter be held in the Supreme Court chambers at 9:30 o'clock a.m. on Thursday, October 4, 1979, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that advance notice of the hearing be given by the publication of its Order of August 16, 1979 in the Supreme Court edition of Finance & Commerce, the Saint Paul Legal Ledger and Bench and Bar, and

WHEREAS, the above orders have been complied with and a hearing on the said redistricting plan has been held on October 4, 1979, Judge John J. Weyrens and Mr. Laurence C. Harmon making presentations, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court recognizes and accepts the responsibility conferred upon the court by Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 487.01, subdivision 6, and by promulgating this Order intends to discharge its obligations under the law, and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Minnesota Supreme Court that, wherever possible, judges of county court should be elected by and be responsible to persons in the counties in which they reside by maintaining chambers in the counties of their residence, and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Minnesota Supreme Court that, wherever possible, judicial resources should be allocated in such a way that each county in a judicial district shall have at least one county court judge resident therein before any other county in the judicial district shall have two or more resident county court judges,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the county court districts of the Eighth Judicial District are constituted as follows:

District A: Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Yellow Medicine and Renville Counties;

District B: Swift, Kandiyohi and Meeker Counties;

District C: Wilkin, Traverse, Big Stone, Grant, Stevens and Pope Counties.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the county court districts as provided above shall be effective immediately for purposes of judicial assignment and administration, but shall become effective for election purposes commencing November, 1982 and continuing in effect thereafter.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the two county court judges formerly serving Grant County prior to the December 22, 1978

Supreme Court order assigning said judges indefinitely to the Seventh Judicial District shall be elected from the county court district comprised of Douglas, Todd and Wadena Counties upon the expiration of their present terms.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that there shall be one position of county court judge serving Kandiyohi County, for the reasons as set forth in the Supreme Court Order in this matter dated December 22, 1978.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this Amended Order shall supercede those provisions of the Eighth District redistricting plan as incorporated by reference into the Supreme Court Order dated December 22, 1978 inconsistent herewith.

Dated: October **24**, 1979

Robert I. Sheran, Chief Justice
Robert J. Sheran, Mef Justice
Robert J. Sheran, Gief Justice
Robert J. Sheran, Chief Justice
James C. Otis, Associate Justice
Walter F. Rogosheske, Associate Justice
Walter F. Rogosheske, Associate Justice
Warrangetusm)
•
C. Donald Peterson, Associate Justice
Fallon Kelly, Assophate Justice
Fallon Kellý, Associate Justice
John J. Todd, Associate Justice
John J./Todd, Associate Justice
Lawrence K. Yetka, Associate Justice
Lawrence R. Yetka, Associate Justice
Horas Cal Hatt
George M. Scott, Associate Justice
dange W. Scott, Associate Justice
1 / 1 / 1 / 1 / 1 / 1 / 1 / 1 / 1 / 1 /
Rosalie E. Wahl, Associate Justice